Long Time, No Post

It feels good to be back! I’ve been pretty absent for the past couple of weeks because of a death in the family of my significant other and the fact that it’s finals week here at my college. Not so good times. So I’ve been doing a lot of traveling, homework and studying that has prevented me from doing what REALLY matters – writing blog posts! Not that this post is going to be anything special, or even anything particularly related to occupational therapy, but I just want to get back in the swing of things with my writing.

I do have a blog post planned that is my response and criticisms of this article about occupational therapy: http://www.norwichbulletin.com/article/20140414/ENTERTAINMENTLIFE/140419857/10298/LIFESTYLE

For now, I will say that I feel like this article was a decent attempt to explain occupational therapy to the general public, but it falls short from this goal in a myriad of ways. I am also going to explain how I believe the author could have approached the topic differently to explain occupational therapy more accurately and to make it a more engaging reading for anyone who came across the article. So I’m looking forward to having enough time to finally sit down and write that!

In other news, I will be graduating from college in less than two weeks. It’s hard to believe that I’m a senior with pretty much all of my undergraduate career behind me, and I try not to think about it too often! But in spite of myself, I frequently have moments of nostalgia as I cross campus and think about the picnic my friends and I had in one spot or the time we spent in the library getting glared at for being too loud or all of the amazing (and not so amazing) classes I have been so blessed to be able to have taken. As I reflect upon the four years I’ve spent here, I really understand just how fortunate I am to have been able to go to college and earn a degree in areas of study I am passionate about. I will be graduating with a B.S. in Psychology and a minor in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages, and with ZERO debt thanks to the full scholarship I earned.

I never used to think about (or understand) what a miracle it is for me to be graduating without any loans or debt hanging over my head, but hearing my friends’ stories about the staggering amounts of debt they are facing at just 22 and 23 years of age has made my reality a somewhat rare and very sobering one. In the future I will be getting a taste of what it’s like to take out and pay on loans, because my graduate education certainly isn’t going to be free! However, I am hoping to graduate in two years and begin participating in a state-sponspored loan program that pays back student loans of people who go into “high demand” professions like occupational therapy! And even if that doesn’t end up happening, I’ll just be happy to be paying off only two years’ worth of school.

So, on that somewhat saddening note, I am off to write more papers, review more study guides, learn more material I should have learned months ago and generally wait for graduation to roll around!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Long Time, No Post

  1. Kronk April 30, 2014 at 8:00 pm Reply

    wait, ZERO DEBT?!? basically you own life! 😀

Leave a Reply

