Things I’ve Been Doing Instead of Blogging…

So, I’ve been pretty (read: TOTALLY) absent from my blog for a while, which makes me pretty sad! I love writing and finding new articles and material about OT to share, and not being able to engage in my newfound occupation as a blogger is disappointing.

But you know what’s NOT disappointing?

Finally, finally, FINALLY starting graduate school for occupational therapy after a long, hard year of applications, resume writing, essay composition, interviews, visits, personal and financial struggles and very hard work!!!

As of tomorrow, I will officially be starting my graduate career in occupational therapy – in the classroom, at least. I’ve been absent from the blog because I’ve been doing some or all of the following things in preparation for this huge step:

  • Moving to a new state
  • Signing a lease
  • Moving into a new apartment
  • Buying furniture and other fixin’s for this new apartment
  • Fixing the internet in the new apartment
  • Buying school supplies (One of my required items was colored pencils…this program is gonna be AWESOME!)
  • Buying groceries and cooking meals for myself once again (Gone are the days of free meals provided by family members and my employer!)
  • Buying textbooks (I’m so BEYOND excited to finally have my own brand new copy of Willard and Spackman’s Occupational Therapy!)
  • Reading homework assignments for class

 

In short, I’ve been keeping busy managing my own time, my own life, my own money and my own career with little or no support from anybody else! Welcome to adulthood, I guess. Or a state of near-adulthood, anyway.

I’m sure at this point you’re wondering how in the world this post relates to occupational therapy at all…trust me, I’m getting to it. Basically, all of these things that I have mentioned above can be related in some way to my new occupational roles as a graduate student, a financially responsible person and a (mostly) independent adult. I am beginning to engage in different environments and routines, with different tools and with different capabilities, all things that are relevant to occupational therapy and myself as an occupational being. (More on that as the semester continues!)

So I’m sorry the content’s been missing, but half the time so have my car keys, favorite shirts and peace of mind! I promise, I’ll be back soon and with much more depth and insight about my awesome career field! Stay tuned!

Have you ever had a big transition in your life? How did you feel about it?

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

