BadgeBlooms: A Fun Way to Celebrate the First Day of Spring!

OT BadgeBloom

Isn’t my OT BadgeBloom beautiful? I love it! Mine is fun and floral, but they come in all kinds of styles, shapes, and patterns!

Happy first day of spring! Although apparently it’s snowing in some places on the East Coast and it’s not all that warm where I am, I’m glad that nicer weather is finally on the way after Snowpocalypse 2015.

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while (like since Christmas), but I’m just now finding a minute to sit down and post about something cool I discovered around the holidays!

Last Christmas I was looking for a nice, inexpensive gift for my friend who is in speech-language pathology school, and I really only believe in spending money on gifts that are going to be functional for their recipients. Clearly I was destined to be an OT from the day I was old enough to start getting other people gifts, LOL. Anyway, I wanted to get something that would be useful to her in her academic and professional life, that she would like, and that was fairly inexpensive. And after a little bit of sleuthing to find good gifts for graduate students, I happened to find the BadgeBlooms shop on Etsy!

Badgeblooms is a business owned by a woman in Chicago who designs fun ID badge holders & reels for healthcare workers and other personnel. She has them in all shapes, sizes, themes, and colors, and they can even be customized for people who work in a particular profession (like my custom OT badge in the picture above).

As most healthcare employees are required to do, I have to wear my ID badge when I’m on fieldwork seeing clients and interacting with families so that I can be easily identified as a person who belongs. Unfortunately, as an occupational therapy student working in settings alongside a variety of other professionals, I have often been mistaken for a nurse, PT, and even the parent of a client! Although nobody meant any harm when making these honest mistakes, I wanted to do something to be more proactive about letting people know who I was and why I was in the room or working with their child. Having a customized “OT” BadgeBloom has been a great talking point and has spared me some confusion when working with people in busy settings alongside multiple other professionals.

The benefits of Badgeblooms are many:

  • Inexpensive ($7-15, for most styles)
  • Customizable
  • Durable
  • Allow you to identify and distinguish yourself from other professionals who interact with a client
  • Cute, fun, and a great way to promote your profession in the workplace
  • Support a small business owner

If you’re concerned that BadgeBlooms are too pretty to be tough, have no fear! I try to take care of my things, but between me running after kids in the clinic, chasing down the bus, throwing it in my junky bookbag, and losing it in my bedroom, my BadgeBloom hasn’t always been well-treated. However, it is sturdy and has held up very well for the past few months.

So if you’re in the market for a fun, functional gift for a friend, family member, coworker, new occupational therapy/healthcare student :D, or yourself, a BadgeBloom might be just what you’re looking for! They also come pre-packaged in a cute little box when you buy them, so you can just ship it straight to its recipient without even worrying about gift wrap! Additionally, if you like the BadgeBlooms Facebook page you can get a discount on your purchase!

Check out the Etsy shop – and its hundreds of options – and good luck making a decision about which one to get!


Disclosure: I was not compensated by BadgeBlooms for this post. I just really like my lovely ID badge holder and supporting small business owners!

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

