Catching Up

Hello out there! It’s been over a month since I last posted, and since then I have:

  • Graduated from OT school
  • Started my final Level II fieldwork at a local continuing care retirement community (CCRC)
  • Applied to the AOTA Emerging Leaders Development Program
  • Been spending as much time as possible with friends and family

…all of which explain my internet absence! (Not that anyone noticed I was gone, I just like to explain giant gaps between posts, lol) Since I’m working full time on a variety of projects this summer, I’ll likely be posting a lot less often, but I’ll do my best to inform the interwebs about my ongoing experience as I transition from OT student to new grad and beyond!

 

In the meantime, here’s what I’ve been up to over the past month! (Note: Only half of it actually has anything to do with OT).

 

Graduating from OT School

On Saturday, April 30, I was officially done with all of the academic requirements for my OT program and I became a near-graduate of the UNC Chapel Hill Master of Science in Occupational Therapy program’s Class of 2016! It was such an amazing experience to be a part of, especially because every year the OT program students plan our own private graduation ceremony and celebration that is separate from the University’s events (because our program isn’t actually over until August, after our final Level II fieldwork, we aren’t technically allowed to walk with the rest of the University’s students in May). My classmates did an amazing job of designing a program that celebrated each and every one of our classmates and allowing us all to come together with our instructors, friends, and family members to celebrate this amazing achievement.

 

Friends and Family Galore!

I love blogging, but I love my friends and family much, much more! For my graduation, my uncle from California flew out to surprise me at the ceremony – no joke, I turned around and saw him walking up and I CRIED. It was amazing! After graduation, I was able to spend a few days hanging out with him and my mom and grandparents, which made for an awesome start to the week I had off between graduation and fieldwork.

 

Right after my uncle left, one of my best friends came down from New Jersey to visit me. We entered a lip sync contest at a local bar and KILLED IT, so we won a free $100 bar tab! We performed to “Crazy in Love” by Beyoncé and Jay-Z, and it was amazing! We also took a trip to the nearby Botanical Garden, where we saw tons of wildlife and cool carnivorous plants!

 

After Shaylin left, my OTHER best friend Laura flew in from Missouri to prepare for her upcoming wedding. She’s getting married in Yellowstone National Park (I KNOW, RIGHT?!?) this summer, and I’m so honored to be her maid of honor! It’ll be the furthest west I’ve ever been, and I can’t wait to make the trip! We also had her bridal shower and bachelorette while she was home, and that was a ton of fun!

 

Starting my Final Fieldwork

After taking a way-too-short week off to hang out with friends and family and decompress from what was actually a really stressful last semester, I started my final fieldwork placement at a local CCRC. It’s a very unique place, and I’ve been working with older adults with a variety of conditions and abilities. I’m learning a ton, and it’s been a truly challenging experience for myself as a (budding) clinician and fieldwork student. More to come on my experience later this summer!

 

 

As you can see, I’ve been keeping pretty busy outside the blogosphere! However, I plan to come back soon with more posts and ideas, so check back soon for updates!

Leave a Reply

